With the free plugin WP Reset you can reset your WordPress site to a fresh installation at the push of a button. I will briefly explain what the plugin offers and how you can use it to reset WordPress.
What does WP Reset do?
As the name suggests, with the plugin WP Reset Reset WordPress. But what does that mean exactly?
At a reset the tool deletes all database entries so that you can create a Fresh WordPress install have.
All content and customizations will be removed. So similar to a cell phone that you reset to the factory settings.
With WP Reset you can clean the following data:
- All posts
- All sites
- Custom Post Types
- Media entries in the media library
The following data will not be deleted:
- Media in the upload folder
- Signed in user
- Page title and WordPress address
- Language and search engine settings
When does a reset make sense?
Normally one does everything in order not to put one’s website into its original state. I only say backup! But in some cases it is very useful to start again with a page.
- I myself use the reset function mainly on test pages. This allows me to delete data created by themes and plugins with just a few clicks. After that, my WP page is back to its original state. And I don’t have to set up a new test environment again.
- The plugin is also very helpful when trying out themes. Most themes now offer demo content that you can import with a click. A number of articles, pages or images are imported. Then, before trying another demo, you can erase the previous data and settings with WP Reset.
- Some also use the function to rebuild their site. So you could use the clean install for a new project.
Reset WordPress with WP Reset
As always in WordPress, the plugin is quickly installed. Under > Plugins > Install you are looking for WP Reset. Now you can install it and then activate it.Install WP Reset in Dashboard.
If you want to reset WordPress, you can now find the tool in the menu under > Tools > WP Reset
Reset settings (post-reset actions)
In the settings you will first receive a detailed indication of what the plugin will do. Because once the process has been initiated, there is no going back!What should happen after the reset? Here you set it.
In the section below you determine what should happen after resetting your page. In my case I tested different demos of OceanWP. So I chose the following settings:
- Restore current theme
- Activate WP Reset plugin
- Activate all current plugins
The plugin will then reset WordPress but reactivate the theme and plugins. Then I can directly import the next demo and try it out.
Now you can enter “reset” in the confirmation field and start the process. So that you don’t accidentally flatten your WordPress site, you have to confirm the reset again in a popup.Confirm deletion
After you have also confirmed this last hint, WordPress will be completely reset. So on the initial status of a fresh WordPress installation.
Depending on what you have selected, the theme and plugins will be retained and reactivated.
And what about the users? These are also deleted with one exception. The active user will not be deleted and you will be automatically logged in again with this user. So you don’t run the risk of locking yourself out.
In the Tools tab you will find other useful features for a selective reset. Here you can, for example, delete transients, media files or theme options.
- Delete transients
- Empty upload folder
- Reset theme options
- delete themes
- Delete plugins
- Empty or delete tables
- Delete .htaccess file
With the free reset plugin, you can too Database snapshots create. A copy of the current database tables is created.
This allows you to quickly restore a previous state of the database. This is especially useful for developers.Create database snapshot
But beware: The Snapshot Tool does not replace a real WordPress backup! You should rather use a real backup plugin like Updraft for that. Because a snapshot only considers the database. All other parts such as themes, plugins or uploads are not backed up.
If you want to take a snapshot, just click on the button Create new. You then assign a name for the snapshot – the plugin does the rest.Create a new snapshot
Restoring the snapshot is also very easy.With one click you can restore the snapshot
Under Saved Snapshots you get an overview of your saved snapshots. By clicking Restore, you reset the data.
You can also compare the snapshot with the current database or download the database.
I use WP Reset frequently and really like it. Because it saves me a lot of time, especially when testing themes or plugins. For example, I used to delete demo data from themes by hand. Sometimes even a completely new WordPress installation was set up.
But with WP Reset it’s all much faster and more convenient. A few clicks and I’ve reset WordPress to factory settings!