How to delete your website on WordPress.com site

You can launch a blog in no time at WordPress.com. However, there may be times when the options available soon are no longer enough for you and you want to switch to a self-hosted website. So that your visitors don’t get confused by two websites, you should delete your old blog. In this post, we explain how you can do that.

A notice: Even if a deleted website does not appear under its URL or in search results, it can still remain in third-party archives and thus still be accessible on the web.

Delete WordPress.com site – here’s how

  1. To delete your website, the first thing you should do is log into your WordPress.com hosting account. Open the dashboard and scroll down. Find the Settings button and click it to go to the settings page.

2. At the bottom of the page you will see “Delete your site permanently”. Click on this button to start the process. Please note that this action does not result in a complete deletion. There are more steps to take to delete your blog.

3. Although this step is not mandatory, we recommend that you export your blog content, especially if you’ve put a lot of time and effort into it. Click the “Export Content” button to download content.

4. After clicking “Export Content” you will be redirected to the page with two sections – Content and Media Library. Starting with “Content”, you can export blog posts and pages from your website. Select “Export All” to get the process working. When the export is complete, you will be sent a download link via email (which you provided in the file).

Now you can export the media library hosted at WordPress.com. Click the “Download” button to download files to your computer. Make sure you saved them.

5. When the content export is complete, you can go back to continue deleting. On the previous page, you should scroll down until the red button “Delete Site” appears. Press it to start the final phase of the deletion process and delete the WordPress account. This page also tells you what types of data are permanently deleted.
6. WordPress will then ask you to enter your website name (this is to prevent your website from being accidentally deleted, so you have to confirm it). Enter the full URL and then click the “Delete this website” button to deactivate the WordPress site.

Extra step: If you want to keep your domain name and theme while files need to be deleted, you can go through this optional step. On the Settings page you should find the “Delete your Content” button. Click on this to start the process. On the next page you will have two options: either let the support team delete the site or delete it yourself by following the instructions. If you choose to contact support, WordPress.com will delete your content.

How do you create WordPress database backups?

We don’t want to dramatize things, but vulnerabilities can be common to most WordPress websites. You are also not protected from losing access to your account. And the reasons for this are very varied – from a hardware failure at your hosting service to a malicious cyber attack to a faulty plugin. That’s why it’s important to know how to backup your WordPress database and prevent data loss.

There are many helpful methods to create a copy of your WordPress database. Next we would like to go into more detail about the manual backup:

1.Open the cPanel on your hosting server and log in. Go to “Database” and select “phpMyAdmin” (tool that allows you to manage MySQL database and WordPress data stored in it)

2. Go to the sidebar with all available databases and select the right one (look for databases that contain ‘wp’ in the name). Click on the database to see the internal folder architecture in the sidebar and central side panel.

If you use several WordPress databases, you have to make some effort to choose the right database. Therefore it is advisable to open wp_post and compare post names with the ones you want to backup.

3. When you are sure you have selected a correct database, then click on the “Export” button located at the top of the page.

4. Clicking a button will take you to the page with multiple options. You have to choose between quick (Quick) and user-defined (Custom) export and decide in which format you want to download your database. WordPress users mostly prefer the quick export and save the file in SQL format. This combination makes it possible to save the WordPress site in its current form and to easily restore it to different servers afterwards.

Extra step: If you don’t plan on backing up your entire WordPress site, you can choose the custom export. Then you will be taken to the list of various sections. Uncheck Files that don’t need to be copied.

If you have any doubts about whether custom export is right for you, these reasons could influence your decision:

  • There’s no need to save plugins at all, as they can be easily reinstalled on your new website.
  • It’s not mandatory to copy comments, especially if your content isn’t actively being commented on.

Whatever your reason for choosing the custom export, make sure all unnecessary sections are excluded from the backup.

When you’re done with that, you’ll be taken to the “Output” page. Select “Save output to a file” before starting the database download. You don’t miss this step. Otherwise, phpMyAdmin will store your WordPress database in an inappropriate form for future recovery.

As an afterword

The end of your blog on WordPress.com Blogs is actually a great start. If you want to blog professionally, then it’s worth setting up a self-hosted WordPress website. But don’t forget to properly copy your WordPress database to be able to restore your project later.

This guide has been translated from English. You can take a look at the original text here.