How to delete a Facebook account – ThemeLocal

Facebook’s reputation has taken a number of blows over the years, with privacy and misinformation playing a big part. Whether you’ve lost trust in the site or just can’t log in anymore, here’s how to delete your Facebook account.

There are two ways to close your Facebook account – Delete and Deactivate.

In this guide, we’ll walk you through the process of permanently deleting your account. However, if your main purpose is to just take a short break, scroll to the bottom of the page to learn more about opting out.

It’s important to note that deleting your account will delete all of your posts, photos, videos, and pages under your control, along with all Oculus purchases and achievements.

You’ll also no longer be able to use Messenger, and any apps you used with Facebook Login (like Spotify or Pinterest) will need to be restored using those sites.

Once you’re comfortable with that, follow the steps below to permanently delete your Facebook account.

What you will need:

  • A Facebook account you no longer want

The short version

  1. Open your Facebook settings
  2. Go to your Facebook information
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion
  4. Choose Delete Account
  5. Enter your password to confirm

How to delete a Facebook account

  1. Step
    1

    Go to your Facebook feed

    We use screenshots from the desktop browser version of Facebook, but you can also do this on your phone. Facebook News Feed

  2. Step
    2

    Click the arrow in the top right corner

    This should give you a drop down menu with your account settings. Facebook Account Settings

  3. Step
    3

    Select Settings & Privacy

    The icon looks like a gear. Facebook Account Settings

  4. Step
    4

    select settings

    Or click the gear icon again. Facebook Account Settings

  5. Step
    5

    Go to your Facebook information

    The tab is on the left side of the page. Facebook Account Settings

  6. Step
    6

    Select deactivation and deletion

    You can also download a copy of your data at this stage. Facebook deactivation and deletion options

  7. Step
    7

    Select Delete account and proceed to account deletion

    Alternatively, you can also deactivate your account at this time. Disabling will temporarily disable your account, but you can continue to use Messenger and recover the account later. Delete Facebook account

  8. Step
    8th

    Click Delete Account

    This is your last opportunity to download or transfer your account information. Delete Facebook account

  9. Step
    9

    Enter your password and click Next

    That’s it! You have permanently deleted your Facebook account. Facebook confirms the account deletion