Twitter is currently testing a new feature called CoTweet. Two users can send a joint tweet and both are given as the author. This feature is initially available for a limited time and is currently only available to a select few users in Korea, Canada and the United States.
After creating a tweet, a user can invite someone else to co-author it instead of posting the tweet themselves. The invitation will be sent as a direct message on Twitter. As soon as the invitation is accepted, the post will be published as a CoTweet on both timelines at the same time. A CoTweet can be recognized by the indication of both authors above the post, whereby both profile pictures are also displayed.
If the invitation to the CoTweet is declined, the post will be automatically deleted. You can invite your followers to CoTweet or public profiles, but only two authors are allowed for a CoTweet. CoTweet invites are unlimited, so you can send out as many invites as you want, Twitter explains.
Deletion and revocation also possible for CoTweets
Should the original author wish to delete the CoTweet, he or she can do so as usual with normal posts. An invited co-author cannot delete the CoTweet themselves, but they can revoke the CoTweet. The CoTweet then becomes a normal tweet from the inviting user and all information such as the username and profile picture of the revoking co-author are removed from the post. The CoTweet also disappears from your own tweets and the timelines of your own followers.
A spokesman for the social network told The Verge that Twitter was looking for new ways of working together. “We’re testing CoTweets for a limited time to see how people and brands can use this feature to grow and reach new audiences and strengthen their collaboration with other Twitter accounts.”
Instagram did it
Instagram introduced a similar feature last year when posting went forward on the desktop version. In a trial version of Collabs, one person can register another as the author of a post. This is possible via Instagram’s tagging function. Again, both accounts appear in the post header.