In this article, you will learn how to completely and permanently delete a WordPress site. Although not difficult and only takes 30 minutes, it is a different process than leaving your website. Hackers could access your website even after you stop managing it.
There are many other reasons to permanently delete your WordPress website. It may be that you want to completely distance yourself from the content that you have published. You may be dissatisfied with your company’s reputation and want to erase everything. You may also want to know how to permanently delete a WordPress blog by merging it with another.
WORDPRESS.COM VS WORDPRESS.ORG
WordPress.org and WordPress.com look almost the same when it comes to URLs, but there are many differences. WordPress.com refers to a platform that allows you to launch and maintain websites. WordPress.com specialists take care of security, hosting and maintenance. WordPress.org is an open source platform that you can use to manage a website. The webmaster takes care of everything: themes, plugins and updates, hosting, security and even hosting. Whether you use WordPress.org or WordPress.com, we’ll show you how to permanently delete your WordPress site.
Deleting a WordPress.com Site (How-To)
You can permanently and completely delete your WordPress.com site by following the steps below. WordPress.com offers support for deleting sites that have been accidentally deleted or have changed their minds. It is possible to undo the deletion of the website within 30 days of deletion. Your website will be gone forever if you don’t.
- From your WordPress.com site dashboard, click tools.
- Choose to delete a site (the last item in the drop-down menu).
You will be offered the option of backing up your content. Scroll down to the bottom and read the explanations before clicking Delete site.
- Last step: Enter the name of the WordPress website that you want to delete.
- click on to delete this site. The site will be deleted if you entered the correct name.
- Now log into your WordPres.com dashboard
- And click My Sites > Settings.
- Scroll down and click to permanently delete your website.
Delete WordPress.com Site With Upgrade (Instructions)
If your website hasn’t been updated, the above method works fine. You may have bought additional storage space, a domain name, or used a premium theme. You will be prompted to cancel any paid upgrades and delete your site if you have done so. This is not a problem. Do the following:
- You can cancel premium upgrades by clicking Manage Purchases.
- You will be redirected to the Purchases section. Here you can cancel or transfer paid upgrades.
- Restart the process as previously described. It should go smoothly this time.
Close WordPress.com Account (Instructions)
In this section, you will learn how to delete your WordPress.com site. You can regain access to your WordPress account within 30 days of deletion. Your account will be closed and all websites on WordPress.com will be deleted. To avoid costly mistakes, keep this aspect in mind. Here are the steps to closing your WordPress.com account once you have made a decision and are fully aware of it.
- To view your profile, go to WordPress.com and click on the avatar in the top left.
- Click Account Settings.
- Scroll down and click Permanently close your account.
Get 20% Off Divi Theme Through Our Link TODAY!